Description: monaco in europe.jpgMonaco, officially the Principality of Monaco is an independent and sovereign country located on the northern coast of the Mediterranean Sea.

It is surrounded on land by its neighbor France, and Italy’s borders are just 10 miles away (about 16km).

Its area is 0.76mi² (1.98 km²) with a population of almost 38,000 inhabitants (2016 Cenus) among which 8,300 Monegasques and including residents from 125 nationalities. Monaco is the second smallest country in the world and the smallest member of the United Nations. Furthermore The City-State of Monaco is the world’s most densely populated country: 23.800 inhabitants/mi².

The house of Grimaldi has ruled over Monaco since 1297. Monaco’s sovereignty was officially and permanently recognized by the Franco/Monegasque Treaty of 1861.

Furthermore, Monaco is one of 5 European micro-States (the others being: Andorra, Liechtenstein, Malta, and the Vatican City).



Description: carte-de-MONACO.gifMonte-Carlo is a district of Monaco whose total area has been peacefully extended by 20% in reclaiming land from the sea.

The Official Language is French. However, Monegasque, Italian, and English are also widely understood and spoken.

After the 2008 national census, we count more than 120 nationalities in the territory, amongst them 300 Americans and more than 200 Canadians.

The Euro (EUR, €) was introduced in 2000 and is the official currency since 2002.

Catholicism is the official State Religion however every Cult is accepted in the Principality.

Monaco is governed under a form of constitutional monarchy.
His Serene Highness the Prince is the Chief of State.
The present Minister of State is His Excellency Michel Roger.

The literacy rate of the population is almost 100%